The Competition, which began in 2002, takes place in Thessaloniki (Greece) and bears the name of one of the most significant musical personalities of our city, Giorgos Thymis (1924-2009). A pianist, maestro and composer, and a former Artistic Director of the State Symphony Orchestra and the State Conservatory of Thessaloniki, Thymis played a leading role in the artistic life not only of Thessaloniki but also of Greece in the second half of the 20th century.

Recognized as an important European competition, it is now a member of the world-renowned Alink-Argerich Foundation and attractshigh-level candidates from all over the world.

This prestigious musical event for the city of Thessaloniki is organized biannually by the Friends’ Society of the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra (TSSO), in collaboration with the TSSO and the Thessaloniki Concert Hall.

Acclaimed artists from Greece and abroad have served on the Jury of the “Thymis” Competition (in alphabetical order): Theodore Antoniou, Etsuko Hirose, Cyprien Katsaris, George Konstantinidis, Nora Loukidou, Jura Margulis, Uwe Matschke, Myron Michailidis, Hamish Milne, Alexandre Myrat, Maria Panayiotidou, Pierre Reach, Glenn Riddle, Bernard Ringeissen, Jerome Rose, Gabriel Tacchino, Dimitris Toufexis, Janis Vakarelis, Elisso Virsaladze, Idith Zvi.

The Competition unfolds in three rounds. The preliminary and semifinal are hosted at the rehearsal hall of the Thessaloniki State Symphony Orchestra, and the final round at the Thessaloniki Concert Hall.

Our Sponsors